“So Call Me, Maybe?” Jepsen has it all wrong

Posted on June 7, 2012

0


“So call me, maybe?”  No, B*tch.  If I give you my number, it’s because you need to call me.

I had to get real for a second, because that’s exactly how I felt when the lyrics finally made sense to me.  Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Call me Maybe” is definitely one of those Top 40 songs you hear every hour if you’re listening to the radio.  I like the song, it’s happy-go-lucky, and yeah I know the words.  That’s how I figured out this girl had it all wrong!  It was actually a little upsetting.  In the song she talks about throwing a wish in a well, and how she locks eyes with this super-hot stud that she falls for.  Long story short, she likes the dude and gives him her phone number for him to call her, maybe.

Maybe?  Really?  Maybe?  I understand there are two ways this can go.  Scenario one- you’ve each had a couple drinks and you think you like him, but not really… so yeah, in this scenario maybe is a definite viable option.  Scenario two- you really do like the guy, and hands down want him to call… why would you tell him maybe?  That makes no sense.  You sound so unsure when you throw maybe into the mix.  That’s not attractive!

I understand there are bigger fish to fry in the world than analyze lyrics in a Top 40 hit, but this just didn’t make sense and I had to say something.  So here it is:

If you like the dude, give him your number and tell him to call you.

If you don’t like the dude, give him your junk email address, if that.

It’s that simple.

-Emilia

Related Article:

Here’s an entertaining article about guys using this new phrase as a pick up line for pseudo-business cards.  How would you feel if you got a business card with a catch-phrase?  I would probably laugh and like it, because I’m corny that way.  But check it out… it’s a good read. Huffinton Post Article: Call Me Maybe Business Card Used to Pick Up Women

And just in case you’ve never seen or heard the song… here is is:

Posted in: Perspective, Video